Medical Assistants Examination

The California Certifying Board for Medical Assistants examination is offered by the Computer Based Testing (CBT) method, which is available year round at multiple locations.

To locate a test center in your area, please visit:

The exam is given in sections. They are BASIC, ADMINISTRATIVE AND CLINICAL. The section you take will depend on how you wish to certify. All new applicants must take the Basic examination and either the Administrative or the Clinical specialty. A candidate must pass the Basic examination and at least one specialty to become certified. A second specialty is optional.

The exam has 3 major divisions:

  • Basic Exam

    • 175 multiple-choice questions
    • Two hour time limit
  • Administrative Exam

    • 100 multiple-choice questions
    • One hour time limit
  • Clinical Exam

    • 125 multiple-choice questions
    • One hour time limit


Please note that effective immediately, letters of completion will no longer be accepted in lieu of a Certificate of Completion or official transcripts.

In order to avoid any future confusion and ensure that CCBMA is in compliance with Professional and Health Codes set forth by the Medical Board of California, all applicants must meet the Eligibility Requirements as outlined on page 2 of the Application for California Certified Medical Assistant Examination.

There will be no exceptions to this policy.